Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Drum Jazz - Episode #2 - Thelonious Monk

Blue Monk

Thelonious Monk (1917-1982)

This episode of “Drum Jazz” is an excerpt from the 1952 Thelonious Monk Trio record. The tune is Blue Monk. This project was recorded and produced on the Prestige label. This track includes Art Blakey-drums and Gary Mapp-bass. 

I look forward to more listening of this record. Monk is one of my favorite piano players and composers. Playing along with Monk is an interesting experience. Monks time is great. I’ve written before, that though he is credited as a Bebop player, I view him as a swing player. 

Many have written and voiced their opinion that Monk was sloppy or he had no technique. I always find that to be ridiculous. 

Monk always completes a unique original phrase. I think many are hearing with their eyes. Monk looks and plays unorthodox, they don’t get it. 

As I mentioned, I look forward to more listening of this record. I may have had it in a box set. Max Roach splits the drum chair with Art Blakey on this record. 

There’s not enough recorded material with Monk playing trio, bass and drums only. Monk’s use of the triplet is genius. He has great control of 2 against three in his solos and rhythmic comping.

0 Comments
Notes from an ‘OLD’ Drummer
Notes from an ‘OLD’ Drummer
Authors
Notes From An Old Drummer